This Website is Dead and I Have Killed It (An Explanation)

I didn’t mean to abandon this site, especially after promising tips on action scenes back in December. I just sort of put the post off.

And off.

And off.

And then I forgot.

Now it’s June, I just remembered this blog exists, and holy spit, I better explain.

I’m not all that confident in my writing, I’ll be honest. Definitely not confident enough to offer up the wealth of writerly knowledge I know I want to give.  I know I’ve learned a few tricks from noveling the past year (Wait? It’s only been a year? Jeez. I mean, my hair is going white and I’m only sixteen), with two 120,00+ novels under my belt and a third on the way. I think I’m starting to find my footing, but the keyword is starting.

In this world of Kings and Faulkners, Pattersons and Greens, I’m kind of the worst person to pitch advice at people. There’s just so much of it, and what’s worse, it’s all conflicting.  Plot, don’t plot. Wait to edit, edit while you write. Write every day, don’t make yourself shovel spit onto a page if you can’t churn out decent content. I don’t think I’ve read a single writing tip that everyone agrees on.

And I don’t want to be another one of those voices because writing is hard enough without wondering if you’re doing it all wrong anyway. I’m still learning. Two years ago I thought saidisms were professional and edgy.  So as you can guess, two years ago my writing was spit. Two years from now this writing will be spit.

But I want to help and I want to share what I’ve learned. I don’t think it’ll be enough to power a blog so I might do a lot of thinking here, some reviews. Mostly posts on writerly stuff, anyway, but to heck if I don’t try.

So, yeah. Hope to hear from you guys soon. And sorry about killing this site. Hope it’s not too late to perform an 11’o clock surgery and raise it back from the dead.

 

Leave a Reply

